Entons Eyesus Monastery
The church is located at one of the smallest islands of the lake. It is one of the medieval orthodox churches of Ethiopia which was built in 1314.
Unfortunately, the church was looted and closed for about 150 years. It was again restored by the lately passed away archbishop, Abune Bernabas in 1995. But still the medieval period building supposed to be used as spiritual retreat and prison can be visited at the island of this church. Small museum built in the monastery is where visitors can see survived treasures like manuscripts, skin made robes, and other artefacts of the monastery.
The area is eye catching and stunning for visitors with many indigenous tree species. The small island is very calm but spectacular and cool environment that makes the stay of visitors relaxing. Religious festivals are celebrated twice a year on september3 and january15. Women can enter into the monastery.